Briefs, April 2

GOLF: The Tuesday 2 Man Best Ball League at Clinton Heights which starts April 29 is looking for new players. To enter, visit or call the golf course at (419) 447-8863.

* The Clark Construction Ladies Thursday Golf League is having an organizational meting at 6 p.m. April 17 at Clinton Heights Golf Course. Call (419) 447-7441 or (419) 639-2087 to sign up. You also can do so at the course.

n The Reineke Ford Monday Morning 2 Man Scramble League will have a fun day April 21 and will begin April 28. To join, call Mike Hampp at (567) 230-0393 or Clinton Heights at (419) 447-8863.

* Bump’s Tuesday Retiree Traveling League will begin play at Seneca Hills at 11 a.m. April 8. For more information, call (419) 595-2756.

JV BASEBALL: Calvert beat St. Paul 12-11. Peyton Deats laced a pair of doubles and drove in a run. Sam Shelt Palm had a pair of singles, driving in two. Matt Iannantuono also had two singles and added a triple. Austin Perry singled and doubled and Corbin Kanter singled. Kaden Weucher picked up the win on the mound, and helped his cause with a double and single, and drove in the game-winning run.

* Seneca East beat Crestline 28-5. Drewe Tipple picked up the win, striking out four and not allowing a hit. Zach Aichholz had four hits and four RBIs, while Braeden Tipple three hits and four RBIs. Corey Coppes had three hits and three RBIs. Nate Oney had a double for SE. The Tigers defeated Buckeye Central 8-5 Monday. Ryan Bowerman was the winning pitcher with six strikeouts. He added two hits and three RBIs, while Braeden Tipple had three hits.

* Columbian pounded Marion Harding, 13-6.

BASEBALL: Tiffin Area Babe Ruth League will host a player selection draft 1 p.m. Saturday at Vic Wurm Field at Hedges-Boyer Park in Tiffin. To qualify, a player must be ages 13-15 and not turn 16 before May 1. Players may contact Fred McDole at (419) 455-4490 or (567) 320-3018 or tabrl.baberuthonline(dot)com. League also still seeks coaches for the 2014 season.

JV TENNIS: Columbian’s doubles teams of Ben Klepper and Nils Gommel, Wesley Henckel and Andrew Cole, Jacob English and Gus Panuto, Nicolas Villmizar and Dustin Digby all picked up wins.