Men’s team action highlights third night of City Tournament

By Al Stephenson

A-T Bowling Columnist

While the women took the night off, team competition began on the third night of the 84th annual City Bowling Tournament sponsored by the Tiffin Men’s Bowling Association.

Ten teams took to the lanes on this evening and some solid scores were shot. The clock was about to strike midnight before the leader of the event emerged.

The Pit Stop team from the venerable Rocket League shot 3,303 to take the lead.

Scores for the top team included John Klingshirn 576, Martin Klingshirn 602, Steve Barnes 594, Ed Conrad 595 and Tyson Shope with 651.

Sitting second thus far is D&D consisting of Jeff Smith, Brian King, Aaron Scott, Mikey Carroll and Mike Shock as they rolled a 3,238 total.

Rounding out the top five teams are Reineke 3,105, the No Name Team 3,065, and Coco’s Sports Bar and Grill 3,049.

There were plenty of nice individual games on the evening, led by Scott Plickert’s 277. Rich Yates rolled a 267 game.

Brian King and Ed Conrad each had a 256. Dave Coppus had a 245, Herb Sendelbach 237, Chris King 235 and Tyson Shope 234.

As for individual series scores, Plickert led the way with a 699. Rich Yates Jr. shot 670 and Brian King 665.