Leahy quits spot on elections panel

Seneca County Board of Elections member Janet Leahy submitted her resignation Monday.

Leahy started her new term about a month ago and has served for a year on the board, along with serving as director in the past, totalling 24 years involved in the election process.

In her resignation letter to Ohio Secretary of State Jon Husted, Leahy said she was concerned with the direction the board was moving and her suggestions have been discounted by the board.

Leahy had no additional comment on the matter.

Deputy Director Jim Ehrman and Chairman Charles Knight also had no comment.

Board member Mary Puffenberger was unavailable for comment.

Board member James Fruth said Leahy did not discuss the her decision with the elections board.

Seneca County Republican Party Chairman David Koehl said the resignation was a surprise and Leahy has served the county and the party well.

He also said he is to be a candidate for the position and hoped if chosen, he would be able to work better with the board.

Seneca County Republican Party is to meet at 4 p.m. April 19 to discuss filling the vacancy.

Republicans interested in the position can send a resume and cover letter to Paul Vaughn, 445 E. CR 16, Tiffin.