Carey to place levy on May ballot

CAREY – Carey school board began its first meeting of the year by electing board member Linda Kin as president along with Mike Roszman to serve as vice president.

The board then moved into discussion deciding to place a 6.5-mil levy on the May ballot for the construction of a new school. Superintendent Mark Vehre said they were pleased to stay under 7 mil.

The district is to work with Fanning and Howey Architecture and Engineering of Celina for pre-bond consultation. The estimated cost for construction is $29.6 million, not including any locally funded initiatives. The district’s estimated share totals $8.9 million and it was agreed to add $2 million for locally funded initiatives bringing the bond total to $10.9


If passed in May, the levy would cost the owner of a $100,000 home $199 a year in additional tax.

Vehre told the board he was looking forward to working with the architecture firm and that it was an exciting time for Carey. The board proceeded with setting a meeting for the bond issue steering committee for 6:30 p.m. Thursday.

The board chose committee assignments for the year including Mark Armstrong and Kin on buildings, grounds and transportation; Jennifer Coppler and Greg McCartney on curriculum, students and activities; and Armstrong and Coppler on finance, negotiations, personnel, audit and policy. Assistant Principal Tom Martin, Roszman and Kin are to serve on the scholarship selection committee and McCartney was appointed as the OSBA Capital Conference delegate and legislative liaison with Roszman chosen as the


The board’s regular monthly meetings will remain at 7 p.m. on the second Monday of the month in the board room and the board service account was set at $5,000.

In other news, the board heard from members of the track committee. Denise Jacoby said $142,000 has been raised to build a new all-weather track. She said more donations are to come with future fundraisers and the committee also is looking into potential grant applications.

The board also:

Approved the treasurer and superintendent standing authorizations for 2013.

Approved the alternative tax budget for the July 1-June 30, 2014 fiscal year.

Approved awarding a board scholarship of $600 in 2013.

Approved retention of Scott, Scriven, and Wahoff for legal services.

Acknowledged Dr. Randy Niederkohr and Dr. Samantha Kin Zaciewski for their donation of boys’ varsity basketball shoes.

Accepted a resignation from Lynelle Lortz as second half elementary music teacher.

Approved substitute aide Gloria Kessler, long-term substitute Nikkole Kleba and tutor Lindsay Lewis.

Accepted a $50,000 donation to be put toward an all-weather track from Vaughn Industries in honor of Ron and Pat Vaughn and Roger and Rose Woods.

Accepted a donation of $460 for third- and eighth-grade life skills curriculum from the Mental Health and Recovery Services of Seneca, Sandusky, and Wyandot Counties; $885 from the Fraternal Order of Eagles for materials to benefit students; $250 from Suzanne Krupp Darr for the cheerleading program; 630 feet of pine board for student projects from Care Caskets of Wharton.