Sunday announcements, Feb. 4

K of C hosts annual Free Throw Championship

Tiffin Knights of Columbus No. 608 recently hosted its annual Free Throw Championship at Calvert High School.

Winners included 9-year-old boy Branyan Coleman and girl Kate Coleman; 10-year-old boy Bradley Wellman and girl Alyssa Rishty; 11-year-old boy Blake Coleman and girl Brooklyn Brown; 12-year-old girl Mikenna Kancler; 13-year-old girl Lydia Ardner; and 14-year-old boy Trey Shuey.

All participants received a participation certificate and winners received a championship certificate and a plaque. Winners are to advance to the district level championship.

The Calvert girls basketball team members — Maddy Ball, Shelby Hemminger, Claire Thompson, Maddy Brown, Maria Welter, Hannah Burns — and Coach Pat Herron assisted with the competition. Also assisting were Matt and Jamie Coleman, Jamie Marinis, Andy Faber, Delbert and Christine Schank and Marsha Marinis.

Good Shepherd Home chili cook-off winners

FOSTORIA — Good Shepherd Home hosted its annual chili cook-off Jan. 25. Staff members were encouraged to participate and bring their own chili to be judged.

Residents at the facility were served chili for supper with a side of cole slaw and a corn muffin.

Winners were: Kathy Theis’s Chillin’ Chili, that won for most spicy; Dave Curtis’s BBQ Beef Brisket Chili, that won for best all-around; and Cindy Swartz’s Plum Good Chili, that won for most unusual.

MCL announces new fiction titles

SCYAMORE — Mohawk Community Library has announced new adult fiction titles.

Titles being added into circulation include “The View from Rainshadow Bay” by Colleen Coble, “Fall from Grace” by Danielle Steel, “Sisters Like Us” by Susan Mallery, “The Mitford Murders” by Jessica Fellowes, “Need to Know” by Karen Cleveland, “Dark In Death” by J.D. Robb, “Into the Black Nowhere” by Meg Gardiner, “All That Glitters” by Diana Palmer, “White Chrysanthemum” by Mary Lynn Bracht, “Death by Chocolate Cherry Cheesecake” by Sarah Graves and “Beyond Danger” by Kat Martin.

BC board to meet

NEW WASHINGTON — Buckeye Central Board of Education is to meet at 7 p.m. Thursday in the library of the school, 938 S. Kibler St.

Aspire classes accepting students

Vanguard-Sentinel Aspire program offers free classes to help adults improve reading, math or writing skills; prepare for a high school equivalency test; and to get ready for college or an adult certificate training program.

To enroll in classes, students are to attend a two-hour orientation to set goals, complete placement testing, and develop an individualized learning plan.

The next orientation dates are:

• 9 a.m. or 5 p.m. Feb. 13 and 15 at the Vanguard Adult Workforce Development Center.

• 9 a.m. Feb. 12 and 14 at Oak Harbor Ottawa County Resource Centre.

• 5 p.m. Feb. 13 and 15 at Port Clinton Ida Rupp Public Library.

• 8:30 a.m. Feb. 6 and 8 and at 5 p.m. Feb. 5 and 7 at Tiffin Ohio Means Jobs of Seneca County.

• 9 a.m. Feb. 5 and 7 and 5 p.m. Feb. 6 and 8 at Fostoria Learning Center.

Appointments for online classes only can be made at Clyde Public Library by calling (419) 359-5907.

For more information or to schedule an orientation date, call (419) 334-6901, ext. 2703.

Calvert renames development office

Calvert Catholic Schools Superintendent Michael Kaucher has announced the renaming of the development office to the office of institutional advancement and announced Carolyn Price has been named director.

Price graduated from Ohio University, taught physical education for 18 years at St. Mary Elementary School in Tiffin, eight years for Sandusky Perkins Schools, worked for four years as Calvert’s freshman physical education and health teacher and served as Crestline St. Joseph principal for eight years.

As director of institutional advancement, Price is to promote the school through building relationships with the staff, alumni, friends, Calvert families and the Tiffin community.

TCS teacher named Healthy School Hero

Angie Ellis, physical education teacher at Washington K-1 Elementary School, is the winner of the Healthy School Hero Award.

Action for Healthy Kids recognizes award winners for their work to improve health, nutrition and physical activity among students nationwide.

NCOESC hosts workshop

North Central Ohio Educational Service Center welcomed Brian Kight, CEO of Focus 3, for a workshop Jan. 23. There were more than 100 guests in attendance.

Kight is a multi-industry leader on leadership, culture and behavior. As the CEO at Focus 3, Kight has worked for more than a decade with all levels of executives and associates.

For more information

on Focus 3, visit

Baldwin Wallace graduates

BEREA — Baldwin Wallace University announced local students who graduated in December.

Students earning degrees are Hunter Abell of Fostoria, bachelor’s degree in business administration and marketing, and Gabrielle Mintz of New Riegel, bachelor’s degree in nursing.

Miami University president’s list

OXFORD — Cecilia Burtis of Tiffin and Bobbie Hall of Republic have been named to the fall 2017 semester president’s list at Miami University.

Miami University dean’s list

OXFORD — Miami University students have been named to the 2017 fall semester dean’s list.

Local students who made the list include Amanda Dierkes of Upper Sandusky; Sydney Schank, Spencer Pauly, Sam Shetterly, Nick Felter and Cecilia Burtis, all of Tiffin; and Bobbie Hall of Republic.

Dayton dean’s list

DAYTON — University of Dayton has announced students who have been named to the 2017 fall semester dean’s list.

Local students who have been named to the list include Jarid Gelinas, Sarah Guzowski, Monica Klepper, Marrisa Therriault and Cheyenne Ward, all of Tiffin.

Ashland dean’s list

ASHLAND — Ashland University has announced students who have been named to the 2017 fall semester dean’s list.

Local students who made the list include Shaye Brown and Natalie Bisignano, both of Attica; Alexandria McDole of Kansas; Paula Wollenslegel and Nicholas Mikovits, both of Clyde; Margaret Willford of Bloomville; Samantha Krintzline, Paige Correll and Aaron Arnold, all of Tiffin; Ashley Carter of Green Springs; Alec Baldosser and Benjamin Cramer, both of New Washington; and Derek Wentling of Carey.

Bluffton University dean’s list

BLUFFTON — Jesse Gase and Courtney Perry, both of Tiffin, have been named to the 2017 fall semester dean’s list at Bluffton University.

University of Toledo honors lists

TOLEDO — Cody Scheer of Tiffin has been named to the president’s honor list and Amber Perry of Tiffin has been named to the dean’s list for the 2017 fall semester at the University of Toledo.

Local joins academic society

ASHLAND — Aaron Arnold of Tiffin has been named a member of Ashland University’s American Chemical Society.

Tiffin student named to honors society

ASHLAND — Olivia Bosse of Tiffin has been named a member of Ashland University’s Honors Society.

Tiffin student joins Alpha Phi

ASHLAND — Julia Hohman of Tiffin has been named a member of Ashland University’s Alpha Phi organization.

Terra State hiring instructors

FREMONT — Terra State Community College is hiring instructors for the 2018 KidsCollege, slated for 8 a.m.-3:15 p.m. July 23-26.

For more information, email or call (419) 559-2255.