Sunday announcements, college, Feb. 2

Teachers to host trivia competition

The Teachers of Tomorrow Education Club is to host “Are You Smarter Than a Fifth Grader” at 7:30 p.m. Monday in Osceola Theater, located in the Gilmor Student Center on the campus of Tiffin University.

TU to host speaker

Tiffin University’s School of Criminal Justice is to host Montgomery McFate at 11 a.m. Thursday in Chisholm Auditorium.

McFate is the Minerva chairwoman for strategy and policy for the U.S. Naval War College in Newport, R.I. She is to speak about “Cultural Awareness and National Security.”

McFate has published works on cultural awareness, and has been a key adviser to Gen. David Petraeus in bringing the science of social anthropology to work on the counterinsurgency efforts in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Financial aid assistance offered

FREMONT – Terra State Community College is to host a statewide college financial aid event called “College Goal Sunday” at 2 p.m. Feb. 9.

The event is free and is to be presented by the Ohio Association of Student financial Aid Administrators and endorsed by the Ohio Board of Regents, assists students and parents with completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid.

For assistance in completing the FASFA, families are to register for the event, at or by calling (800) 233-6734.

Terra semester starts Feb. 10

FREMONT – The 12-week spring semester at Terra State Community College is to begin Feb. 10 and an eight-week term is to begin March 17.

For the full schedule, visit

For more information, call (419) 559-2349.

Tiffin Univesity fall dean’s list

Area students on the Tiffin University 2013 fall semester dean’s list include Bethani Burkhart, Colin Covella and Jalen Santoro of Bellevue; Tammy Waugaman and Brittany Twigg of Bettsville; Catherine Brookes, Katie Back, Michael Monroe, Larry Sheets and Rick Zeigler of Bloomville; Lisa Jenne of Bradner; Nicholas Kerlin of Burgoon; Alex Acree and Karen Lehman of Carey; Wendy Lippert, Brent Shue, Erica Cenkus, Sara Deweese, Alex Dority, Shelbi Meyer, Ryan Myers and Amber Wagner of Clyde; Kenneth Berkley, Melissa Fant, Karen lesia, Naomi Karr and Monica Murray of Fostoria; Casin Spero of New Riegel; Jacob Gurney, Cynthia Lenz, Alyssa Millis, Jarron Theis and Jordan Zimmerman-Rincon of Republic; Jessie Babcock and Grant Ekleberry of Sycamore; Tammy Alvarado, Challie Crihl, Trevor Clinger, Kathi Elmore, Justine Fulwider, Tracey Hossler, Deborah Husk, John Leary, Russell Snyder, Maria Williams, Tori Yeast, Hasan Abdul Elah, Hamad Al Hammadi, Hussain Al Mosabeh, Zeyad Alanezi, Abdullah Fahad Aldawod, Saleh Aldhahi, Mina Alewine, Aws Fayez Alkhlofah, Mohamed Alktebi, Sultan Alnafisah, Khalid Alnowmsi, Abdullah Alosaimi, Fahad Alotaibi, Mohammed Naif Alotaibi, Mohammed Aloufi, Saeed Algahtani, Ibrahim Alsaiari, Yaseen Alsayed, Ali Alshehri, Mohamed Alshomriani, Nicole Ardner, Mohammed Baduwais, Julie Banks, Carl Bishop, MacPhears Boan, Carli Bogard Hollie Borer, Ashley Brodman, Eric Brown, Nicole Burck, Lauren Burdin, Tana Cenkus, Lyndsey Colman, Pedro Correa, George Dosh, Richard Fox, Chris Frederick, Miranda Goens, Emmanuel Grembo, Brooks Hall, Colleen Higgins, Maria Hoepf, Chelsea Houtz, Sheldon James, Malcom Keith, Mekenna Klaiss, Decker Kneeskern, Kayla Lampkins, Amber Lewis, Xin Li, Joshua Mack, Kayla McClintock, Heather Mcmasters, Nicole Perkins, Tyler Perry, Greg Phillips, Fahad Salamh, Kelsey Santiago, Aric Skalican, Alesha Smith, Kaitlyn Smith, Kirsten Smith, Dawn Stiger, Kylie Stocker, Rawan Sultan, Tyler Tyree, Loren Veit, Marissa Ward, Alexander Weaver, Kevin Weber, William Wendler and Rachel Wickham of Tiffin; Smantha Conn, Lynzi Daughenbaugh, Pearl Forker, Jashua Baker, Ryan Courtright, Corey Frey and Nancy Bower of Upper Sandusky.

University of Cincinnati dean’s list

CINCINNATI – Local students on the 2013 fall semester dean’s list at University of Cincinnati included Daniel Chambers, Alexandra Kramer, Samantha Nicks, Rohini Rana and Madison Taylor of Tiffin; Chad Deamicis and Emily Hyatt of Carey; Taylor Radloff and Elizabeth Smith of Bellevue; Colleen Smith and Samantha Walker of Republic; Benjamin Wollenslegel of Clyde.

Clyde resident makes dean’s list

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Shelbe Gibson of Clyde has been named to the Trevecca Nazarene University fall 2013 dean’s list.