Calvert’s Zoe Meyer, Emma White named all-Ohio

The defending state champions in Division IV had another outstanding season this year.

Despite being knocked out of the tournament this season in the regional final by New Bremen Saturday, two players and coach Lori Rombach earned awards when the all-Ohio teams were announced Monday.

In Division IV, the only first teamer in the area went to senior Calvert’s Zoe Meyer. The middle hitter led the 25-2 Senecas this season. Teammate Emma White, a sophomore setter, made the third team.

Rombach, New Bremen’s Diana Kramer and Monroeville’s Kendra Snook each earned a Coaches Achievement Award.

Mohawk senior setter Alex Konkle and Buckeye Central senior hitter Lexi Evak both made second team and joining White on the third team was New Riegel senior hitter Kaitlyn Kirian.

In Division II, Bellevue had two players on the all-Ohio list. Junior hitter Taylor Baxter and senior setter Molly Bullion each were named to the second team.

Meyer, Rombach earn

top district awards

Calvert’s Zoe Meyer was named player of the year in District 6 and her coach Lori Rombach was tabbed the coach of the year, shared along with Monroeville’s Kendra Snook in Division IV.

Joining Meyer on the first team was her teammates Emma White and Ashlyn Jones, Buckeye Central’s Lexi Evak, New Riegel’s Kaitlyn Kirian, Mohawk’s Alexa Konkle and Seneca East’s Jessica Bowerman.

On the second team was Mohawk’s Paityn Clouse, New Riegel’s Jordan Hohman, Buckeye Central’s Kendra Ackerman and Parker Phenicie, and Calvert’s Hannah Miller and Kate Rombach. New Riegel’s Brooklyn Gillig and Aubrey Bouillon, Mohawk’s Catherine Klopp, Buckeye Central’s Lydia Ackerman and Old Fort’s Savannah McCoy were all on the third team.

Honorable mentions included Seneca East’s Tori Fritz and Alexis Hicks, Calvert’s AJ Hemminger and Hannah Myers, Old Fort’s Grace Wasserman and Buckeye Central’s Alivia Niese.

The only first teamer in Division III was Carey’s McKenzie Row. On the second team was Hopewell-Loudon’s Peyton Hoover, the third team included Upper Sandusky’s Jadyn Smalley and Zoe Rice (Fostoria) and Abbi Roerdink (H-L) were both honorable mention.

Bellevue’s Molly Bullion was the player of the year in Division II, while Karen Irons was named coach of the year. Taylor Baxter and Columbian’s Rylie Roggow were the other first teamers in Division II.

Kami Hay (Bellevue) and Addison Conti (Columbian) were second team, Clyde’s Ruby Schabel and Bellevue’s Kailee Felder were third teamers and honorable mentions included Columbian’s Brianna Landers and Olivia Jacobs.