Runner-up Groves sparks champion Tornadoes

PHOTO SUBMITTED Columbian’s boys cross country team poses after winning the Old Fort Invitational Saturday at Old Fort.

OLD FORT — Caden Groves captured second, a teammate ran in the top 20 and three more Tornadoes ended in the top 30 Saturday to guide Columbian to the championship at the 21-team Old Fort Invitational.

The Tornadoes beat Liberty Center 93-108 for the title, led by Groves crossing the line in 16:41.56.

New Riegel took sixth (189), Bellevue came in eighth (211), and Upper Sandusky (224), Lakota (238), Seneca East (247) and Old Fort (353) wound up 10th through 13th. Calvert added a 15th (405) and Mohawk finished 20th (544).

Jacob Marquis backed Groves with an 18th (18:10.83), Patrick Marquis came in 21st (18:19.41), Logan Robinson ran 24th (18:22.98) and Brian Siesel took 28th (18:30.4). Jacob Weingart (52nd, 19:11.06) and Ian Martinez (103rd, 20:16.8) also ran for TC.

Two other area runners finished in the top 10, with Lakota’s Braden Schaser claiming sixth (17:24.8) and Bellevue’s Cayden Adams taking 10th (17:34.98).

Connor Hill’s 11th (17:38.85) backed Schaser for the Raiders, while Caleb Wenzel added a 27th (18:28.59) for Bellevue.

New Riegel got a 13th from Brandon Gillig (17:54.64) and a 33rd from Zach Zoeller (18:43.04).

Upper Sandusky’s Kameryn Webb finished 17th (18:09.69) and Troy Mawer came in 26th (18:25.71).

Shayden Heiser ran 34th (18:43.83) for Seneca East and Pieter Wise added a 41st (18:54.83).

Calvert’s Garrett Spaun crossed the line 32nd (18:42.77) and Nick Palm ended 70th (19:32.42).

Mohawk’s Trenton Horner (19:41.63) and Isaac Ward (19:42.7) came in 77th and 78th.

Fremont Ross won the open race with 41 points, with Upper Sandusky holding off Columbian 89-94 for second.

New Riegel came in fifth (116), Bellevue took seventh (181), and Old Fort (236) and Seneca East (249) finished ninth and 10th.

Jason Barr’s fifth (19:50.9) paced the runner-up Rams.

Jonah Voorheis added a 19th (20:31.14), Zach Ledig (20:39.55) and Coy Shoemaker (20:40.07) ran 22nd and 23rd, and Benjamin Patchett took 29th (21:07.27).

Kevin Dong (74th, 22:54.43) and Caleb Pergram (86th, 23:27.2) also ran for Upper Sandusky.

Columbian’s Carter Fittro captured top individual honors by winning in 19:13.52, while Luis Martinex claimed 10th (20:02.03).

Teddy Owens (20:44.19) and Cameron Koerper (20:54.38) ran 25th and 26th for TC, and Grant Gribben came in 42nd (21:26.11). Luke Snyder (43rd, 21:27.85) and Raphael Confessor (56th, 21:56.83) also ran for Columbian.

New Riegel’s Cade Haman claimed eighth (19:58.73) and Alijah Morrow came in 17th (20:25.46).

Bellevue got a 20th from Cooper Fought (20:33.17) and a 30th from Devin Teill (21:10.31).

Gabe Smith of Old Fort ran 24th (20:43.29) and Alec King added a 40th (21:19.91).

Seneca East’s Emerson Brown ended 32nd (21:12.27) and Kyle Hoepf finished 45th (21:30.86).

Lakota did not field a full team, but Travis Hoerig crossed the line fourth (19:46.79) and Cameron Dunn came in 75th (22:55.23).

H-L boys, Carey’s

Reinhart race to crowns

NEW WASHINGTON — Hopewell-Loudon used a trio of top-10 runners as the springboard to the boys title while Carey’s Sarah Reinhart claimed the individual crown in the girls meet Saturday at the Buckeye Central Invitational.

Jordan Foster claimed runner-up honors in 16:26.46, Trey Masterson ran sixth in 17:00.03 and Carter Ritchey took eighth in 17:07.41 to push the Chieftains past Crestview 47-67 for the boys championship.

Caden Crawford added a 15th (17:38.21) and Sam Meade crossed the line 18th (17:50.05) for H-L. Brendan Durbin (20th, 17:56.13) and Bryce Arbogast (25th, 18:09.77) also ran for the Chieftains.

Carey came in 10th (257) and the host Bucks ended 12th (296).

Tanner Stoll’s 46th (19:01.19) led Carey and Bryce Young added a 62nd (19:25.69).

Anthony Millinger claimed 36th (18:34.94) for Buckeye Central and Caden Young came in 55th (19:12.53).

In the girls meet, Northmor beat Wynford 59-89 for the title while Carey scored 92 points to capture a tight battle for third.

Colonel Crawford edged Hopewell-Loudon 93-94 for fourth, with Crestview taking sixth with 95 points. Buckeye Central came in eighth (228).

Reinhart took top individual honors by crossing the line in 19:22.29 and teammate Juliana Boes ran eighth in 20:41.25 for the Blue Devils.

Nellie Bianchi added a 24th (21:56.31) for Carey, Addystin Lykins took 35th (22:37.76) and Abby Allison ended 39th (22:52.49). Summer Bouillon (44th, 23:09.63) and Liberty Heinze (53rd, 23:25.42) also ran for Carey.

Hopewell-Loudon’s Alivia Roerdink (21:14.04) and Taylor Sours (21:16.04) finished 13th and 14th.

Buckeye Central got a 12th from Katy Hagerty (21:03.21) and a 56th from Taylor Ratliff (23:29.85).

Tornadoes second at Old Fort Invite

OLD FORT — Caleigh Aigler ran ninth and four teammates ended 23rd or better Saturday to propel Columbian to second at the 18-team Old Fort Invitational.

Liberty Center upended the Tornadoes 55-76 for the team championship. Bellevue (232), Upper Sandusky (240), Seneca East (250), Lakota (286), Old Fort (347) and Mohawk (359) ended ninth through 14th, with New Riegel (440) coming in 17th.

Aigler sparked the runner-up Tornadoes by crossing the line in 20:53.53.

Mia Ingalls chipped in a 13th (21:19.65), Annalyce Bowles added a 16th (21:30.14) Dallas Poll claimed 19th (21:50.56) and Serena Ingalls claimed 23rd (22:08.28).

Ali Woessner (39th, 22:44.52) and Sierra Steinmentz (50th, 23:23.68) also ran for TC.

Lakota’s Reilly Cozette also ran in the top 10, capturing seventh in 20:29.41. Julia Baker added a 65th (24:17.58) for the Raiders.

Bellevue got a 26th from Rylee Bollenbacher (22:13.17) and a 49th from Vanessa Shanaman (23:18.02).

Gracie Manns came in 24th (22:09.4) for Upper Sandusky and Macy Mewhorter took 43rd (23:04.41).

Seneca East’s Kennedy Beard ended 20th (21:52.55) and Amelia Boes finished 22nd (21:59.12).

Cameran Cleveland came in 36th (22:41.17) for Old Fort and Kristen Baker ended 52nd (23:32.12).

Kaylynn Maybee of Mohawk took 37th (22:42.27) and Brooke Hannam wound up 79th (24:47.05).

New Riegel’s Isabelle Wood finished 97th (25:30.87) and Brooklyn Williams took 104th (25:43.14).

Calvert did not field a full team. Erika Gonzales ran 32nd (22:29.67) and Kassidy Reynolds took 85th (25:01.42).