Santoro, Gillig shine atop all-SBC girls list

Columbian’s Brisendine, Dryfuse each make second team for Lake Division, while NR’s Kirian, OF’s Miller make River first team

Bellevue’s Casey Santoro and New Riegel’s Brianna Gillig were each named their division’s most outstanding performer when the Sandusky Bay Conference released its all-conference list Tuesday.

Santoro, a sophomore, got the nod in the Lake Division after leading the division with 22 points per game while also averaging 5.0 rebounds, 3.9 steals and 3.3 assists for the Lady Red.

Gillig’s honor came in the River Division, where she wrapped up her senior season by leading the division with 24.3 points and 11.2 rebounds per game while also tallying 1.9 steals and 1.9 assists per game for the Blue Jackets. She was one of only two girls — the other was Oak Harbor junior Logan Harris in the Bay Division — to earn first-team honors by unanimous choice.

Santoro was joined on the Lake Division first team by freshman sister Cory Santoro (15.5 ppg, 2.9 spg) and Clyde senior Heidi Marshall (20 ppg, 3.9 spg, 3.3 apg).

Second-team Lake Division honors went to Columbian senior Maddie Brisendine (12.9 ppg, 6.9 rpg, 1.5 blocks per game) and junior Abby Dryfuse (13.5 ppg, 13.1 rpg) and Bellevue sophomore Payton Vogel (9.1 ppg, 4 spg, 6.4 rpg, 2 apg).

The honorable mention list included Bellevue’s Gabby Turner, Clyde’s Jackie Smith and Columbian’s Kaia Woods and Autumn Sehlhorst.

Other area first-teamers in the River Division included Old Fort senior Morgan Miller (5.8 ppg, 1.4 spg, 1.9 bpg, 1.5 apg, 8.6 rpg) and New Riegel sophomore Kaitlyn Kirian (7.9 ppg, 6.6 rpg).

Locals on the second team were Lakota junior Aliza Dauterman (5.6 ppg, 1.4 spg, 10.8 rpg), Calvert junior Shelby Hemminger (10.2 ppg, 2.4 spg, 2.5 apg), New Riegel sophomore Brooklyn Gillig (7.3 ppg, 2.1 spg, 3,7 apg) and Old Fort senior Madisyn Spencer (8.7 ppg, 2.0 spg, 1.5 apg, 6.3 rpg).

Honorable mention players were Calvert’s Maddy Brown, New Riegel’s Lindsay Bouilon, the Old Fort duo of Whitney Bilger and Sydney Hossler, and the Lakota trio of Brooke Shank, Samantha Wallace and Mackenzie Feathers.

Webb gets top River honor

Old Fort senior Jacob Webb was named the River Division most outstanding performer when the Sandusky Bay Conference released its all-conference list Tuesday.

Webb earned the award after leading the River Division with 19.8 points per game, and turning in 4.2 assists for the Stockaders.

Seniors Ben Dryfuse (17.6 ppg, 1.9 blocks per game, 6.8 rebounds per game) of New Riegel and Park Hemminger (10 ppg, 1.5 steals per game, 4.3 apg, 4.3 rpg) of Calvert also landed on the first team.

Area second-teamers were Lakota senior Josh Kagy (12.1 ppg), New Riegel senior Austin Lescallett (10.7 ppg, 1.8 apg, 5.5 rpg), Old Fort freshman Zach DeWese (8.5 ppg, 4.5 rpg) and Calvert senior Conner Kennedy (8.5 ppg, 5.5 rpg).

The honorable mention list included Calvert’s Zach Con, Lakota’s Tyler Wehrle and Levi Myers, New Riegel’s Dylan Smith and Bryce Hohman, and Old Fort’s Luke Wagner and A.J. Steyer.

Nine area players also gained honors in the Lake Division.

Clyde junior Derick Harrah (16.8 ppg, 4.9 rpg) and Bellevue junior Trey Ruhlman (20.5, 2.4 spg, 2.7 apg) each finished as first-teamers.

The second team had seniors Seth Hohman (12.3 ppg, 1.4 spg, 1.0 bpg, 2.1 apg, 6.3 rpg) of Clyde and Jake Waskielis (13.6 ppg, 1.2 spg, 2.0 apg) of Bellevue.

Honorable mention status went to Bellevue’s Kayden Vogel, Clyde’s Conner Long and Camaron Farrar, and Columbian’s Donnell Brockington and Braden Brown.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)