Perry, Troike lead All-MAL selections

A lot of area stars shined in the Midland Athletic League’s final year. But, none more so than Old Fort’s Hunter Perry and St. Wendelin’s Kamryn Troike. Those two were selected as MAL players of the year.

Perry led his Old Fort Stockaders to the outright league title, the team’s second-straight crown. Along the way, Perry has assaulted the MAL record books. His 55 points Dec. 6 against North Baltimore were the most ever score in an MAL game. His 666 points this season ranks second all-time in MAL history. He his 25 points away from tying for the top spot with at least one more tournament game in the cards. His 28.9 points a game average is also second all-time, the record is 29.0.

This year, Perry also led the league in assists (6.1), was second in steals (3.5) and tied for third in rebounds (8.9).

St. Wendelin’s Troike, only a sophomore, led the MAL in scoring (20.2), rebounding (14.2) and field goal percentage (62.4). She helped guide the Mohawks to a 17-5 record, and a 6-4 MAL mark, tying them for fourth in the league.

For the boys, league runner-up Carey placed two on the first team. Jared Wentling finished second in the league in scoring (22.0) and first in rebounding (9.5). He’s joined by teammate Bryan Powers, who’s 18.2 ppg average ranked fourth in the league.

Rounding out the first team were Hopewell-Loudon’s Ryan Lommerse (15.4 ppg, 8.9 rpg), Seneca East’s Ethan Caudill (19.0 ppg, 6.0 rpg), Fremont St. Joe’s Hunter Harrison (13.2 ppg, 8.3 rpg), Calvert’s Michael Bennett (13.5 ppg, 5.5 rpg) and St. Wendelin’s Gabe Walters (11.5 ppg, 8.4 rpg).

Second team honors went to New Riegel’s Jake Dryfuse, Carey’s Zach Boes, Lakota’s Colin Timmons, North Baltimore’s Jacob Frost, Old Fort’s Maison Steyer, St. Joe’s Ben Linke, Mohawk’s Mitch Parker and Calvert’s Drew Ritzler.

On the girls side, league champion Carey landed sophomore Syndey Wentling on the first team. Wentling led the league in assists (4.7) and 3-point shooting (48 percent), while finishing fifth in the league in scoring (13.2). Runner-up New Riegel placed two on the first team in Lauren Ladd (11.7 ppg, 8.0 rpg) and Kara Scherger (13.1 ppg, 4.2 spg). Seneca East’s Seina Adachi was second in the league in scoring (19.8) and first in steals (4.4) on her way to a first team selection. Also named to the first team were Calvert’s Kate Brickner (17.0 ppg, 43.0 3-point percentage), Hopewell-Loudon’s Aleta Daniel (13.1 ppg, 4.2 apg, 3.5 spg) and Mohawk’s Julie Adelsperger (13.2 ppg).

Named to the second team were Carey’s Ali Rymer and Hannah Draper, New Riegel’s Taylor Kirian and Taylor Arbogast, Mohawk’s Kasey Adelsperger, Calvert’s Nicole Bickley, St. Wendelin’s Allie Rutter, Hopewell-Loudon’s Courtney Burns and Old Fort’s Alli Adelsperger.

Old Fort boys coach Eric Hoover and Carey girls coach Phil Vaughn, who each led their team to conference titles, were named coaches of the year.