Top district 6 awards go to Perry, Loy

Old Fort’s Hunter Perry tops the district in scoring and Buckeye Central coach Phil Loy has his Bucks on a roll.

This past week, both earned top Division IV honors from the District 6 coaches.

Perry, a senior, is averaging 29.3 points per game for the Stockaders and has been named the division’s player of the year.

Loy has the Bucks ranked eighth in the latest Associated Press Division IV poll at 16-2 overall and 9-1 in the North Central Conference.

Neither is the sole representative of their team among those earning District 6 honors.

Buckeye Central senior Cade Kaple (15 ppg) and junior Austin Wurm (20 ppg) joined Hunter on the first team.

Familiar faces on the honorable mention list included Buckeye Central senior Sam Robertson (11 ppg) and Old Fort seniors Maison Steyer (11.3 ppg) and Brad Bannister (7.4 ppg).

Other area players also were included.

Local second team picks were seniors Ethan Caudill (18.6 ppg) of Seneca East, Michael Bennett (14.1 ppg) of Calvert, Gabe Walters (11.2 ppg) of St. Wendelin and Jake Dryfuse (12 ppg) of New Riegel.

Rounding out the rest of the local honorable mention contingent were Calvert sophomore Drew Ritzler (11.7 ppg), Mohawk senior Mitch Parker (14.6 ppg), St. Wendelin senior Nick Root (10.2 ppg), New Riegel junior Tim Ink (10.3 ppg) and St. Wendelin sophomore Peter Campbell (9 ppg).

A handful of other players also picked up awards.

Clyde senior Derek Gray (21.8 ppg) and Columbian junior Derek Dryfuse (15.6 ppg) were Division II first-team picks.

Division II honorable mention awards went to Upper Sandusky freshman Wes Vent (15.8 ppg), Clyde senior Collin Gregory (9.7 ppg), Upper Sandusky junior Seth Frey (10.5 ppg) and Columbian senior Josh Flint (11 ppg).

In Division III, Carey juniors Jared Wentling (22 ppg) and Bryan Powers (18 ppg) landed on the first team.

Hopewell-Loudon junior Ryan Lommerse (15.3 ppg) was a second-team selection, and Carey junior Zach Boes (14 ppg) gained an honorable mention award.