Cahill, Troike top District 6 honors

One will go after leaving a big impression. The other is on her way to doing the same.

Both will do so with the district’s top honor.

Clyde senior Amanda Cahill and St. Wendelin sophomore Kamryn Troike were named players of the year in their respective divisions this past week by the District 6 coaches.

Cahill, who earned her award in Division II, is averaging 20.2 points this season and has scored more than 2,000 points in her career. She will continue her basketball career at Indiana.

Troike is scoring at 20.7-point-per-game average and picked up her award in Division IV.

Meanwhile, Carey’s Phil Vaughn was named the Division VI coach of the year.

All three were joined by several more area players who earned honors.

Cahill was joined on the Division II first team by two familiar faces: the Clyde duo of junior Kelsey Michaels (13.6 ppg) and senior Breanne Michaels (9.4 ppg).

Columbian junior Valesha Province (20.7 ppg) also landed on the first team.

Clyde senior Lexi Weber was an honorable mention selection.

The Division III first team included Upper Sandusky senior Taylor Graboski (17.1 ppg) and Mohawk seniors Kasey Adelsperger (15 ppg) and Julie Adelsperger (13 ppg).

Upper Sandusky junior Kalene Johnson (8.4 ppg) and sophomore Emma Smith (9.5 ppg) were joined on the honorable mention list by Mohawk senior Clara Adelsperger (7 ppg).

Troike topped a list of 18 area players on the Division IV picks.

Joining her on the first team were Calvert senior Kate Brickner (16.27 ppg), New Riegel junior Kara Scherger (13.5 ppg), Carey sophomore Sydney Wentling (13 ppg), Seneca East sophomore Seina Adachi (19.1 ppg) and Carey senior Ali Rymer (11.1 ppg).

The second team had Hopewell-Loudon senior Aleta Daniel (13.4 ppg), New Riegel senior Lauren Ladd (12.1), Buckeye Central senior Brooke Karl (12.2 ppg) and New Riegel senior Taylor Kirian (11.4 ppg).

The honorable mention players were Old Fort freshman Allison Adelsperger (11.5 ppg), Calvert senior Nicole Bickley (9.16 ppg), New Riegel junior Taylor Arbogast (11.8 ppg), St. Wendelin sophomore Allie Rutter (10.1 ppg), Hopewell-Loudon senior Courtney Burns (12 ppg), Carey senior Hannah Draper (7.8 ppg), Seneca East junior Hannah Hahler (4.3 ppg) and Hopewell-Loudon freshman Brooke Arbogast (7.9 ppg).