HU gains plenty of OAC honors

Three Heidelberg football players won player of the year awards, and the Student Princes were well represented on the All-Ohio Athletic Conference teams.

In something that could be classified as less than a surprise, HU’s Cartel Brooks -who ran for more than 1,700 yards this season and rushed for an NCAA record 465 yards in the season finale at Baldwin Wallace – won the Bob Packard award for the league’s best back.

Brooks’ teammate Quentin Rembert won the Jen Wable award for the best offensive lineman. Rembert, a senior, has been a rock on the Princes line for several years.

Also getting special recognition was defensive lineman Ben Poirier, who shared the Paul Hoernemann award for the league’s top defensive lineman. Poirier had 47 tackles, six sacks and a league-best 18 tackles for a loss. Poirier shared the award with Mount Union’s Matt Fechko.

In addition to that, Heidelberg’s Alex Damschroeder, a Carey graduate, was named the first team’s center, while fellow offensive lineman Austin Hunter also made first team.

On defense, HU linebacker Adam Cepik also made the first team.

Included on the second team was Ohio Northern linebacker Dillon Kwiat, a Calvert graduate. Making honorable mention was Heidelberg fullback Aaron Kapelka, a Hopewell-Loudon graduate.