Awards piling up for local standouts

In her first year with Columbian, Madison Williams helped the Tornadoes to a 15-10 record, a third place Northern Ohio League finish at 8-4, and a district runner-up finish. As a result of her efforts, Williams was named first team All-NOL.

She was joined on the first team by Bellevue’s Amara Hemenway and Tara Rinner, Norwalk’s Sydney Obringer and Abby Moffit, Willard’s Madison Music and Shelby’s Brianna Burkhalter.

Also for Columbian, Haley Sendelbach and Alyssa Price were named second team and Taylor Reinbolt was an honorable mention.

Graboski, Scherger district POYs

The awards keep piling in for Upper Sandusky’s Taylor Graboski and New Riegel’s Kara Scherger.

The two first-team All-Ohio honorees were named District 6 players of the year in their respective divisions. Graboski won the honor in Division III while Scherger was named in Division IV.

Graboski was one of three Rams on the Division III first team. Joining her are teammates Jenna Holly and Jessi Holly. Mohawk sisters Kasey and Julie Adelsperger were also local honorees on the first team.

Mohawk coach Eric Hoover was named co-coach of the year with Don Wood of Huron.

The second team included Upper Sandusky’s Emma Smith and Mohawk’s Taylor McClain. Upper Sandusky’s Molly Owens and Kalene Johnson, and Mohawk’s Clara Adelsperger were named third team.

In Division IV, Scherger was joined by teammate Lauren Ladd on the first team while their coach, Cindy Walerius, shared coach of the year honors with Buckeye Central’s Ken Brubaker.

Brubaker had a pair of players on the first team in Kilee Kimmel and Brooke Karl. Also, Hopewell-Loudon’s Courtney Burns and Carey’s Sydeny Wentling were first team.

Buckeye Central’s Emily Weithman and Jenna Delarber were named to the second team. Also on the second team were New Riegel’s Taylor Arbogast, Carey’s Shelby Seifert, Hopewell-Loudon’s Shelbi Sauber, Seneca East’s Kristen Bowerman, Old Fort’s Shelby Bilger and St. Wendelin’s Allie Rutter.

Third-team honors went to New Riegel’s Brittany Gillig and Morgan Noftz, St. Wendelin’s Sophia Volpe and Becca Starn, and Carey’s Shelby Kin.

Honorable mentions went to Old Fort’s Jordan Magers, Buckeye Central’s Hailey?Hildebrand, Holly Bordner and Hopewell-Loudon’s Kassie Shaver.

In Division II, Columbian’s Madison Williams was named first team district. Teammate Haley Sendelbach made the second team and Alyssa Price was an honorable mention.

Clyde’s Hannah Wadsworth landed on the first team, while Jenna Hoppe and Bre Michaels were second team. Bellevue had Amara Hemenway on the first team, Tara Rinner on the second team and Cassidy Fultz as an honorable mention.