Cooking up something special

Trevor Cook had another big day.

The Carey freshman won the Lakota Invitational, running in 16:36.29. He led the Blue Devils to a fifth-place finish overall.

With strong finishes from Chet Swartzmiller and Alex Wood, Hopewell-Loudon’s boys pulled away from the pack to win at the Doug Nieset race at the Lakota Myron Cline Invitational.

Swartzmiller placed fifth (17:04.31), while Wood placed 11th (17:18.17). Hopewell-Loudon’s Ryan Depinet finished 18th (17:32.89), and Dylan Napier finished 25th (17:52.16) to seal the team’s victory. Old Fort’s Brad Bannister placed 15th (17:30.60). Lakota’s Luke Baker placed 23rd (17:40.57). Chris Koehler (18:03.73) finished 34th for Mohawk, and Calvert’s John Brodman took 37th (18:12.58).

Fostoria boys stay in the mix

C.J. Matheney finished 23rd overall (17:53.33), and Peter Nunez placed 32nd (18:23.91) to help the Fostoria boys earn a sixth-place finish during the Joe McKown race at the Lakota Myron Cline Invitational.

Mohawk girls run to first

It’s no surprise that with four girls finishing in the top 20, Mohawk ran away with first place at the Rachel Munoz race at the Lakota Myron Cline Invitational.

Shauna Leeth placed seventh (20:36.17) and McKenzie Richardson finished 12th (21:03.17) to help launch the Warriors to victory. Also finishing in the top 20 were Mohawk’s Kayla Risner, (19th, 21:25.36), and Haley Leeth, (20th, 21:28.69).

Lakota’s Cariss Reese was nipping at the heels of victory with an outstanding second-place finish (19:47.74).

Calvert’s Olivia Smith placed fourth (19:54.16), while Kayla Garza boasted Old Fort’s only top-10 finish by placing eighth (20:44.09). Hopewell-Loudon’s Leah Reinhart took 16th place (21:16.80), followed in 17th by Carey’s Jaclyn Troiano (21:17.75).