Nine area football teams ‘drop’ a division under new format

The Ohio High School Athletic Association released the divisional breakdowns for the 2013 and 2014 football seasons Thursday, with nine of the 11 football schools in the Advertiser-Tribune coverage area being affected.

The new seven-division format – one more than what had been used since the 1994 season – goes into effect this fall.

As in the past, Division I will be for the state’s largest schools, with smaller schools falling into each succeeding division based on their ninth through 11th grade boys population.

However, Division I will now consist of just 72 schools, while the remaining six will each have 105 to 109 schools. Each division will continue to have 32 teams qualify for the playoffs.

No area schools will compete in Divisions I, II or V, but nine of the 11 teams in the Advertiser-Tribune coverage area will “drop” one division.

Fostoria and Upper Sandusky will remain in Division IV for the next two seasons.

Columbian will play in Division III.

Division VI will include Carey, Hopewell-Loudon, Lakota and Seneca East.

Division VII will have Buckeye Central, Calvert, Mohawk and St. Wendelin.