Kirian, Jaso named tops in MAL

New Riegel’s Taylor Kirian and Lakota’s Tiger Jaso took the top honors in the Midland Athletic League. Kirian was named the league’s softball player of the year, while Jaso was awarded the honor for baseball.

Kirian set an Ohio record hitting 18 home runs this season. For the year she’s hitting .608 and also is one of the league’s top pitchers with a 20-7 record and a 2.54 ERA. She’ll lead her team into today’s regional semifinal game against Rockford Parkway in Findlay.

Jaso, meanwhile hit .672 for the Raiders this year, 200 points better than the No. 2 hitter in the league, Hopewell-Loudon’s Garret Sendelbach, who made the first team.

Frank Lamoreaux, who’s Seneca East baseball squad will play in the regional semifinals Thursday, was named the league’s coach of the year.

The softball coaches award was shared by Mohawk’s Jenny Weinandy and St. Joe’s Pat Bastidas.

Kirian was joined on the softball first team by teammates Kara Scherger and Taylor Arbogast. Also among the first-team honorees were Hopewell-Loudon’s Lauren Trumpler, Mohawk’s Julie Adelsperger, Cambria Kohlenberg and Sarah Runion, Lakota’s Morgan Gangwer and Alaina Bickford, and Carey’s Hannah Draper.

The baseball first-teamers included Seneca East’s Mason McWilliams, Dalton Wise and Jordan Bowerman, New Riegel’s Andrew Hohman, Calvert’s Eric Elchert, Carey’s Austin Patton, Mohawk’s Drew Loose, Hopewell-Loudon’s Tyler Imes and Old Fort’s A.J. Phillimore.