Prep Track Roundup: Smith shines at Lakota

KANSAS – Calvert’s Olivia Smith highlighted local efforts Saturday at the Lakota Invitational. The junior took first in the 800 (the event in which she won the state title a year ago), anchored a victorious 4×800 team and was a member of two more runner-up relays.

Smith crossed the line in the 800 in 2:34.33. She teamed with Morgan Smith, Corinne Harris and Sydney Berlekamp to win the 4×800 in 10:45.74, and ran with Danielle Kontak, Mallory Paul and Kerrigan Kwiat to end second in the 4×200 in 1:56.56.

Both Smiths, Kontak and Kwiat ran second in the 4×400 in 4:32.92.

Also for Calvert, Morgan Smith took second in the 400 in 1:04.77 to help the Senecas to sixth in the team standings, with St. Wendelin right behind them.

Host Lakota came in ninth, Old Fort checked in at 11th and New Riegel finished 12th.

Oak Harbor claimed the title.

Lakota’s Cariss Reese won the pole vault, clearing 9 feet. She also ran second in the 300 hurdles in 49.25.

Also for the Raiders, Aspen Ray, Makayla Kiser, Amber Steiner and Morgan Mowry teamed to finish third in the 4×100 shuttle hurdles (1:19.73). Katie Park gave the Raiders a fourth in the shot put with (30-3 ).

The only other local victory came from St. Wendelin’s Ali Mowrey with a toss of 36-1 in the shot put. Mowrey also finished fourth in the discus (95-3).

The Mohawks also got a third place from Alexa Hallman, Sara Goddard, Jorden Robinson and Emily Weaver in the 4×100 (57.69). Becca Starn cleared 4-10 for third in the high jump.

Old Fort was led by a second from Alexis Rhodes in the 3,200 (13:28.36). Molly Cleveland cleared 4-10 to take fourth in the high jump.

New Riegel’s top finish came from Abby Cassidy’s fourth in the 1,600 (5:59.85).

Calvert shows its team strength

KANSAS – Calvert’s top results Saturday came when the Senecas teamed up at the Lakota Invitational. Calvert took second in two relays and third in another, as it topped all local teams with a seventh place finish.

New Riegel was ninth, Lakota took 10th, Old Fort finished 11th and St. Wendelin came in 13th.

Calvert’s 4×200 team of Ren Boehler, Dan Reineke, Donavon Stith and Austin Ball took second in 1:37.26. Ball, Boehler and Reineke came back to team with Tyler Long for second in the 4×100 in 45.75. Boehler, Reineke, Stith and Long took third in the 4×400 in 3:48.34.

Tim Ink signed his name to a third place finish in the long jump, leaping 18-6 . Teammate Josh Burns took fourth the 300 hurdles (44.8) and fifth in the 110 hurdles (17.4). Ink and Burns teamed with Matthew Bowman and Devin Reinhart for third in the 4×110 shuttle hurdles (1:10.67). Korey Williams took third in the 3,200 in 11:09.0.

Old Fort got a third from Hunter Perry in the high jump as the junior cleared 5-6. Also for the Stockaders, Brad Bannister, Tito Lopez, Donald Young and Marcus Meyers took third in the 4×1,600 in 21:43.4. The same four took fourth in the 4×800 at 9:37.17.

Lakota’s top finish was a fourth from Kevin Crowe in the shot put (42-2 ).

St. Wendelin’s top finish was a pair of sixths from Jorden Nye in the 800 (2:18.47) and 1,600 (5:14.85).

Tigers boys 4th at Bucyrus

BUCYRUS – Seneca East’s Wes Pipher crossed the line first in the 3,200 in 10:21.70, boosting the Tiger boys to fourth out of 16 schools at the Bucyrus Elks Invitational. Kevin Moore added a second in the 110 hurdles (15.23).

The Tigers also got thirds from Zach Gregg in the pole vault (12-6), Ben Hahler in the shot put (46-2) and Adam Hall in the 200 (24.6). Fourths were earned by Gregg in the long jump (18-6), Pipher in the 1,600 (4:52.49), Jared Stockmaster in the 3,200 (10:40.92), the 4×800 team (8:56.37), the 4×200 team (1L38.80) and the 4×100 team (47.29).

Upper Sandusky finished 10th in the team standings. Brennan Miller cleared 5-10 for third in the high jump and backed it up with a fifth in the long jump (18-4 ). Dominic Solis took fourth in the 800 (2:10.37). The 4×800 team took third in 8:52.35.

Mohawk finished 14th. The Warriors’ top finish was a fifth in the 4×200 (1:39.2).

On the girls side, Seneca East took 10th to top the local entries.

Anna Willman ran second in the 3,200 (12:40.78). Ashton Daniel had a pair of thirds in the discus (116-0) and shot put (35-9 ).

Mohawk finished 12th, paced by a second from Jessie Babcock in the high jump (4-8). Julia Daniel was third in the 3,200 (12:50.87) and Ali Konkle was fourth in the 100 hurdles (18.92).

Upper Sandusky’s top finish was an eighth from Logan Kinley in the long jump (14-4). Mallory Weininger tied for eighth in the high jump (4-6).

Carey girls an unkind host at own invite

CAREY – Two points were all that separated first and second place in the girls standings at the Carey Blue Devil Relays. The host Blue Devils found themselves on the good side of the score, edging out Van Buren 124 1/2-122 1/2. Riverdale beat out Hopewell-Loudon for third 89-68.

Hopewell-Loudon’s boys totaled 114 points to win the other meet. Riverdale held off Carey 99-91 for second.

Carey’s girls won seven events, taking the shot put (Dana Newell, Mary Jo Bash and Claire Allison), high jump (Newell, Shelby Craig and Sierra Loper), discus (Allison, Diana Nordyke and Maddie Moran), shuttle hurdles (Newell, Craig, Whitney Niederkohr and Lexi Patterson), sprint medley (Niederkohr, Lauren Wenner, Amber Spurlock and Gwen Wentling), throwers 4×100 (Moran, Allison, Nordyke and Monique Altvator) and 4×200 (Craig, Wenner, Wentling and Spurlock).

Hopewell-Loudon took second in the pole vault (Logan Frank, Katie Brickner and Kiley Siegel), 4×1,600 (Kailey Coleman, Leah Reinhart, Shelby Raudebaugh and Erin Reinhart-Anez) and 4×800 (Coleman, Reinhart-Anez, Reinhart and Raudebaugh).

The Chieftain boys were tops in the pole vault (Dakota Magers, Waleed Salem and Chet Swartzmiller), triple jump (Ben Bodart, Zach Clouse and Ryan Lommerse) 4×1,600 (Robert Kniss, Dylan Napier, Alex Wood and Swartzmiller), freshman relay (Hunter Sadler, Trevor Hickle, Elancio Velasquez and Noah Breidenbach) and sprint medley (Magers, Matt Huth, Cody Malone and Tristan Myers).

Carey won the shot put (Jacob Goble, Jacob Moran and Kyle Swartz), high jump (Tommy Arredondo, Zach Logsdon and Levi Patrick), discus (Moran, Swartz and Patrick), long jump (Arredondo, Logsdon and Grant Wentling) and shuttle hurdles (Dalton Billock, Ben Kromer, Evan Rymer and Brayden Leist).