Hopewell-Loudon board recognizes Partners in Education Wednesday

BASCOM — Recognizing that the school district needs the support of the community, Hopewell-Loudon Board of Education members began their Wednesday evening meeting by acknowledging their Partners in Education. Receiving awards were Matt Hoover, Elaine Tiell of the Tiell Financial Group, Ben Nutter of Sunny Farms and Nate Brickner of Bascom Communications.

Abigail Yarris and Bailee Coss were recognized for achieving four superior rating in the District Solo and Ensemble Contest.

Elementary Principal Kendra Nelson shared that the next year’s grade cards will include progress on Ohio Learning Standards along with the letter grades. This will inform parents of which specific areas their students are progressing and which standards need improvement.

High School Principal Jason Miller thanked Troy Briedenbach and Hopewell Township for providing the Meadowbrook Ballroom as a suitable location for ACT tests taken by juniors.

Superintendent Jeff Holbrook announced the district has received 259 applications for open enrollment for the 2019-2020 school year. Applications are to be accepted through the end of March.

H-L Athletic Boosters donated $3,050 for baseball uniforms and $9,590 for a pole vault pit. The board also accepted a $5,000 grant from Lowe’s Charitable and Educational Foundation for playground safety upgrades.

The board heard the first reading of revised Policy 5460. This policy would allow substituting two years of participation in athletics or marching band for the graduation requirement of two semesters of physical education.

The board approved allowing students to take college credit courses through Bowling Green State University next year.

In personnel matters, two-year contracts were approved for Ken Burns and Kim Reidling. The resignation of Diane Johnson was accepted effective March 31.

The board adjourned to executive session to discuss the discipline of an employee and student discipline and dismissal. No action was taken.

The board is to meet in regular session at 6:30 p.m. April 10.