H-L honors student test-takers

BASCOM – The Hopewell-Loudon Board of Education opened its Wednesday night meeting by honoring Americanism Test participants Sean Steele, Brendon Palmer, Morgan Brant, Maria Faber, Megan Brown and Alex Martinez, who will compete in the state contest.

Superintendent Nicole Jiran announced the Chieftan gym has been cleaned and is ready for use.

Board member Linda Depinet thanked students, facility and community members for participating in cleaning Saturday.

Principal Jennifer Losey said elementary and high school students participated in the pilot of the Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Career tests. These tests are completed on computers rather than on paper. The tests will not be scored, but will tell the Department of Education how students cope with computer testing and to work the bugs out of the process.

Losey said she regretted the practice tests took up valuable instruction time yet the schools will receive no feedback on the results. The middle school and elementary students are to take the Ohio Achievement Assessment tests later this month.

Doug Ranker, board member who chairs the Hall of Fame committee, reported no nominations were received this year. The committee is to review the pool of nominations from past years.

In other news, the board:

Approved the job description for the maintenance position.

Approved First Federal Bank of the Midwest as the depository for school funds.

Accepted a $47,434 donation from the Athletic Boosters for uniforms and equipment and $5,800 from the Music Boosters for a new tuba.

Approved an overnight trip for the girls cross country team in August.

Approve the list of 63 seniors for graduation.

Adopted the calamity day make up plan, which adds 30 minutes of instruction March 26-May 27. Graduation is to remain May 25 and seniors are to be excused after graduation. The final day of the year for all other students is to be May 27.

In personnel matters the board approved three-year contracts for Suzann Bodart, Michelle Burns, Krista Feindel, Sarah Haynes, Heather Hoover, Jackie Parkens and Cathy Walker. A two-year contract was approved for Jill Welty. One-year contracts were approved for Eric Beidelschies, Elaine DiCesare, Linda Osborn, Jennifer Sharp and Heather Stockmaster. Jennifer Arbogast received a continuing contract.

All supplemental contracts and educational aides were non-renewed according to board policy.

The board adjourned to executive session to discuss matters required to be kept confidential by state or federal law.

The board is to meet at 6:30 p.m. May 14.