TCS board organizes for year

Tiffin City Schools Board of Education welcomed new board members during its annual organizational meeting Monday evening.

Oaths were given to Jeffrey Hoyda and Randall Schwartz. Chris Widman, who is also a new board member, was not present and is to be given the oath before the next regular meeting.

Shirley Smith was elected president of the board and Roland Zimmerman was elected vice president.

The board agreed that former board member Dawn Iannantuono will continue to fulfill her current three-year term as a member of the Vanguard-Sentinel Joint Vocational School District Board of Education.

The board also agreed to have its regular meetings this year at 7 p.m. on the fourth Tuesday of each month with the exception of December, when it is to be the third Tuesday. The meetings are to be in the Tiffin Middle School cafetorium.

In other business, the board:

Assigned board members to committees.

Approved the Ohio School Boards Association membership for the year.

Approved Hoyda to serve as the board delegate to the OSBA Fall Conference Business meeting. Schwartz is to serve as alternate delegate.

Approved Superintendent Vicki Wheatley to serve as the equal opportunity compliance officer for Tiffin City Schools and as the agent for all federal and state and privately funded projects during 2014.

Approved standing authorizations for 2014, including an advance on taxes collected, payment of bills, Then and Now Certificates, employment of temporary personnel, appointment of purchasing agent, state and federal programs, board service fund, certificate of available sources, legal counsel and a marketing advisor.

Approved alternative tax budget information for fiscal year beginning July 1 as required by the Seneca County Budget Commission. The tax budget is to be filed with the Seneca County auditor by Jan. 20.

The next meeting is 7 p.m. Jan. 28 at the Tiffin Middle School cafetorium.