Sunday announcements, school, Feb. 16

TCS business council to meet

The Tiffin City Board of Education Business Advisory Council is to meet at 4 p.m. Tuesday at the Administration Building, 244 S. Monroe St.

NCOESC governors to meet Tuesday

The North Central Ohio Educational Service Center Board of Governors is to meet at 7 p.m. Tuesday at the NCOESC Tiffin campus, 928 W. Market St.

Old Fort board to meet Thursday

OLD FORT The Old Fort Board of Education is to meet in a special session at 5 p.m. Thursday in order to conduct interviews for the position of superintendent.

Sentinel to offer classes for GED program

Sentinel’s ABLE/GED program offers a variety of services designed to meet the needs of all individuals interested in improving their academic and workplace skills.

For anyone wanting to obtain a GED, classes offered prepare students for all components of the new computer-based GED test.

To enroll in classes, students are required to attend an orientation where registration forms and placement testing are completed.

The next orientation is at 5:30 p.m. Wednesday in room 244 of the Family Learning Center at Sentinel.

Class times are 9-11:30 a.m. and 5:30-8 p.m. Monday through Thursday.

For more information, call (419) 448-5084.

Register for ABLE/GED orientations

The Vanguard-Sentinel Adult Basic and Literacy Education program are to offer free classes to help adults improve their reading, math, writing or English skills; prepare for the GED test, and get ready for college or an adult certificate program.

To register for an orientation, call the Fremont campus, at (419) 334-6901 ext. 2701 or ext. 2703; Tiffin campus at (419) 448-5084; or the Oak Harbor campus, at (419) 898-3688 ext. 270.

Funds to be given to help expand counseling services

The Mental Health and Recovery Services Board of Seneca, Sanduksy and Wyandot counties issued an invitation to local organizations to offer proposals for services from February through June. Local levy funds are funds that were not consumed in 2009, 2010 and 2011.

Services being expanded through June 2014 are Washington K-1, Krout 2-3, Columbian High School are to add an additional day of in-school counseling for the remainder of the school year; Columbian is to also add an additional day of case management services; and Tiffin Middle School is to add an additional 1.5 days of in-school counseling.

Seneca County Family and Children First Council is to be expand Wraparound services to children and their families as well as case management hours for the SMYL program.

Firelands Counseling and Recovery Services is to offer a Mental Health First Aid training as well as additional psychiatrist time and emergency services.

For more information, call the Mental Health and Recovery Services Board at (419) 448-0640.

BC students have perfect attendance

NEW WASHINGTON Buckeye Central Local Schools have announced the students that have had perfect attendance for the second nine weeks.

Those students are:


Kaitlynn Champion, Dom Dean, Angela Figueroa, Jeremiah Fishpaw, Clayton Fredritz, Ashtyn Gardner, Paityn Hafner, Nickolas Humphrey, Elijah Lenhart, Sarah Martin, Alec Phillips, Jack Phillips, Blake Scenters, Cierra Schneider, Aleyse Siefert and Cadence Yonts.

First Grade

Benten Adkins, Dominic Allgyre, Isabella Beskur, Corbin Bloomfield, Trinity Champion, Tommy Diaz, Austin Estridge, Landon Kopf, Makayla Martin, Summer Phelps, Kamdyn Rachel, Keegan Rutledge, Braden Siefert, Nevaeh Strong, Samantha Utz and Thomas Wells.

Second Grade

Xander Adkins, Malahnia Auck, Emily Campbell, Jalyn Cooley, Derex Dean, James Forman, Christopher Hancock, Tori Hiler, Heath Jensen, Bren Jones, Jonathan Pugh, Carmela Salyer and Chayde Wagner.

Third Grade

Hunter Allgyre, Sydney Beamer, Tori Humphrey, Addie Kessler, Donovan Reinhart, Grady Schafer, Cheyenne Swank, Jacob Swank, Kenneth Utz, Garrett Vaughn and Alexis Yonts.

Fourth Grade

Damian Dean, Carlene Fredritz, Casey Geissman, Elliot Geissman, Graham Geissman, Clay Green, Aaron Harmon, Bladyn Hernandez, Chris Hiler, Alex Kannney, Koda Kehres, Emma Lane, Donovan Lutz, Lauren Mann, Chelsea Niedermier, Isabelle Niedermier, Mackenzie Phenicie, Tony Salyer, Olivia Sherwood and Lexus Swank.