Sunday announcements, college, Feb. 9

Terra prepares for accrediting evaluation

FREMONT – Terra State Community College is seeking comments from the public about the college in preparation for its periodic evaluation by its regional accrediting agency.

Terra is to undergo a comprehensive evaluation visit April 2-4 by a team representing the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.

Terra State has been accredited by the commission since 1975.

To participate, send comments to:

Public Comment on Terra State Community College

The Higher Learning Commission

230 S. LaSalle St., Suite 7-500

Chicago, IL 60604-1411

Or online at

Comments must address substantive matters related to the quality of the institution or its academic programs. Comments must be in writing and be received by March 6.

‘Berg staff honored

Heidelberg University honored 35 faculty and staff Jan. 30 during the annual Employee Recognition Luncheon.

The group has a combined 520 years of service to the university.

Recognized for their service with 35 years were Ken Krieger, Barbara Merryfield, Pete Richards and John Owen; with 30 years were Barb Gabel and Kurt Huenemann; with 25 years was Kelli Brueggemeier; with 20 years were Xiaoming Huang, Sean Joyce, Laurie Repp, Lee Sherer, Steven Velasquez and George Welter; with 15 years were Amy Berger, David Bush, Kent Cartwright, Nancy King, Cynthia Lepeley, Mary Milazzo and Bonnie Shawberry; with 10 years was Bruce Powers; and with five years were Julie Arnold, Remegio Confesor, Melissa Cook, Tom Fisher, Jim Minehart, Bryan Moore, Tom Newcomb, Melissa Nye, Karen Pruitt, Greg Ramsdell, Bob Swanson, Chris Tucci, Martha Weinandy and Mark Zeno.

Executive to visit Heidelberg

Heidelberg University trustee and alumnus Lee Shobe is to be at Heidelberg University the week of Feb. 17 to serve as executive-in-residence.

Shobe’s career spans the fields of sales, marketing and executive management in a diverse range of business and industry. He is to be the guest in several business classes and to meet with students in small groups and individually for mentoring sessions.

Shobe is to be part of a panel discussion called “Classroom to Career: Entry, Establish & Enhance” at 5:30 p.m. Feb. 18 and to give a presentation of his career at 6 p.m. Feb. 19.

‘Berg speech team comes home with trophies

Heidelberg University’s Speech Team placed second as a team at the Ohio Forensics Association’s State Tournament at Ohio University.

Students who returned home with first-place trophies and state championships were Dinah Adams of Tiffin with two awards; Bethany Beaver of Louisville, Ky.; and Colin Higgins of Haperville, Ill.

Professor to lead book discussion

David Bush, professor of anthropology at Heidelberg University, is leading a four-part reading, viewing and discussion series, “Pushing the Limits,” at the Ida Rupp Public Library in Port Clinton.

The series brings together books and videos featuring authors, scientists and everyday people who thrive on exploring the natural world. It is organized around four popular fiction works that explore broad scientific themes of knowledge, connection, survival and nature.

TU professor publishes book

Tiffin University adjunct professor Stavroula Kalogeras has published her first book, “Transmedia Storytelling and the New Era of Media Convergence in Higher Education.”

The book is to be

available for order April 30 at

Tiffin native gets accepted to Ashland

ASHLAND – Taylor Gillig of Tiffin has been accepted to Ashland University for the fall semester.

Gillig is a senior at Columbian High School. She is to receive the Ambassador Award for $1,500 annually.

Terra dean’s list

FREMONT – Local students named to the 2013 fall semester dean’s list at Terra State Community College include: Local students Kourtney Carrick, and Weston Niedermier of Attica; Tracy Williams of Bascom; Cassandra Darr, Rebekah Heppa, Marissa Kath, Blake Kryling, Keith Pasenow, Brian Riffle, Michele Upton and Nicholas Valko of Bellevue; Megan Blekcinger of Bettsville; David Estep, and Stacy Pribe-Stuller of Bradner; Kelly Brust and Paul Rich of Burgoon, Jeremy Blakely, Vincent Bocardo, Jessica Colby, Nathan Combs, Sarah Fisher, Paul Griffin, Derek Logan, Collin Manage, Ryan Nearhood, Justin Phillips, Emily Sedlak, Jacob Shelley, Julie Sickles, Sara Smith and Angela Young of Clyde; Brandon Beining, Connie Hayes, Eirc Lawrence, Tracy Margraf, Arion Tiell and Carl Williams of Fostoria; Ashtyn Wanger of Green Springs; Ian Kuenzli of McCutchenville; Kali Smith of New Riegel; Kristen Frank, and Bethany Melton of Old Fort; Krystle Scott of Risingsun; Zachary Keller, Shirley Parrott-Copus, Sharon Ransom, and Wesley Strait of Sycamore; Ashley Arthur, Candis Atwell, Jacquelyn Becker, Brandy Billet, Daniel Bower, Casey Brubaker, Christy Campbell, Alexa Cleveland, Ron Davis, Christine Flowers, Lindsey Ginnever, Alycia Harrison, Eva Hunter, Tiffany Kiesel, Stephen Kizer, Lorretta Looman, Michelle McGee, Gary Meadows, Alexis Miller, Elizabeth Miller, Dendara Oakleaf, Amy Ochier, Breana Peer, Nicholas Perin, Kelsey Polyak, Jordan Price, Maegan Rameau, Elizabeth Runion, Rachel Saionzkowski, Matthew Sallee, Jacob Schmidt, Holly Schoen, Charles Stuller and Kassandra Welly of Tiffin; and Kendra Dininger of Upper Sandusky.

Northwestern dean’s list

LIMA The University of Northwestern Ohio has named Austin Frankart of Tiffin and Jacob Frankart of Bloomville to the 2013 dean’s list.

Wooster dean’s list

WOOSTER – Alexandra Elchert and Andrew Hoover, both of Tiffin, have been named to the 2013 fall semester dean’s list at the College of Wooster.

Wittenberg dean’s list

SPRINGFIELD – Area students named to the 2013 fall semester at Wittenberg University include Andrea Gaietto of Tiffin and Taylor Hershberger of Upper Sandusky.

Rider University dean’s list

LAWRENCEVILLE, N.J. – Caitlin Sprang of Upper Sandusky has been named to the dean’s list for the 2013 fall semester at Rider University.