Deer-hunting rules proposed

The Ohio Wildlife Council received 2014-15 hunting proposals for deer season dates, changes to deer bag limits and the possibility of allowing some straight-walled rifle cartridges for deer hunting, according to the Ohio Department of Natural Resources.

Deer hunters and other interested parties are invited to share comments regarding the proposed regulations at open houses noon-3 p.m. March 1 and online at through March 2.

Division of Wildlife biologists proposed season dates remain consistent with previous years, with one exception. It was proposed deer-muzzleloader season begin Jan. 2 and end Jan. 5, compared to last year when the season began on a Saturday and concluded on a Tuesday. A proposal to continue the October antlerless deer-muzzleloader weekend for a second season also was introduced.

Proposed seasons for next fall and winter are: deer archery, Sept. 27-Feb. 1; antlerless deer muzzleloader, Oct. 11-12; youth deer gun, Nov. 22-23; deer gun, Dec. 1-7; and deer muzzleloader, Jan. 2-5.

Proposed county deer bag limits:

Two (no more than one antlerless permit): Auglaize, Darke, Fayette, Hancock and Madison counties.

Three (no more than one antlerless permit): Adams, Allen, Ashland, Ashtabula, Athens, Butler, Champaign, Clark, Clinton, Columbiana, Crawford, Erie, Hardin, Henry, Highland, Huron, Knox, Lawrence, Licking, Logan, Lorain, Marion, Medina, Morgan, Ottawa, Paulding, Pickaway, Pike, Preble, Putnam, Ross, Sandusky, Scioto, Seneca, Shelby, Tuscarawas, Union, Vinton, Wayne, Wood and Wyandot counties.

Three (antlerless permits are not valid): Belmont, Carroll, Coshocton, Defiance, Fairfield, Fulton, Gallia, Geauga, Greene, Guernsey, Harrison, Hocking, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Meigs, Mercer, Miami, Monroe, Morrow, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Richland, Van Wert, Washington and Williams counties.

Four (no more than one antlerless permit): Brown, Clermont, Cuyahoga, Delaware, Franklin, Hamilton, Lake, Lucas, Mahoning, Montgomery, Portage, Stark, Summit, Trumbull and Warren counties.