Cast set for Ritz Player’s drama ‘12 Angry Jurors’

The Ritz Players has announced the cast for ’12 Angry Jurors’ Feb. 15-16 and Feb. 23-24.

Based on the Emmy Award-winning TV movie by Reginald Rose, “Twelve Angry Men,” the play was adapted by Sherman L. Sergel. A 19-year-old boy has just stood trial for the fatal stabbing of his father. “He doesn’t stand a chance,” mutters the guard as the 12 jurors are taken into the bleak jury room. It looks like an open-and-shut case — until one of the jurors begins opening the others’ eyes to the facts. Tempers get short, arguments grow heated, and the jurors become 12 angry people.

The cast includes Elizabeth Charlton as the jury foreman, Savannah Stark as Juror 2, John Kahler as Juror 3, Rachel Hummel-Sass as Juror 4, Steven Simpkins as Juror 5, Doug Pahl as Juror 6, Dani Hummel-Sass as Juror 7, Terry Love as Juror 8, Bob Derby as Juror 9, Cory Lachner as Juror 10, Britanie Botton as Juror 11, Gabrielle Mitchell as Juror 12, Nathan Morton as the judge and Scott Cook Jr. as the guard.

The play, directed by Elizabeth Tracy, is to be staged in The National Theatre at 7:30 p.m. Feb. 15, 16 and 23, and at 2 p.m. Feb. 24. Tickets cost $12 for adults and $8 for students and are available at The Ritz Theatre, 30 S. Washington St. or by calling the box office at (419) 448-8544 10 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday-Friday.